Wednesday, December 29, 2010

BNZ Katherine Mansfield Award 2010 goes to Wes Lee

Update: Willesden Herald finalist Wes Lee wins New Zealand's preeminent prize for the short story, The BNZ Katherine Mansfield Award, judged by Booker shortlisted author Lloyd Jones (Mister Pip).

The $10,000 prize is New Zealand's longest standing most prestigious prize for the short story. Past winners of the award include NZ literary greats such as Keri Hulme, C.K. Stead, Frank Sargeson, Vincent O'Sullivan.

Lloyd Jones had this to say about Wes Lee's prizewinning story 'Furniture': "This is a very accomplished story that hides its sophistication beneath language that proceeds effortlessly ... Sophisticated in its construction, persuasive in its telling, this story is in a class of its own."

Since her shortlisted story 'The Dead Don't Do That Kind of Thing' was published in Willesden Herald New Short Stories 1 (2007) Wes Lee has won a number of prizes for her short stories. For more information and to read the Katherine Mansfield Award winning story please visit

No comments: